About Us

Our history

A few years ago, I decided to meet my twin sister in Hawai'i, who was staying there to learn English and surf. She returned to France but I stayed there: I fell in love with this island, the waves, and especially my future husband!


We later gave birth to our first child. For me, breastfeeding was obvious, a perfectly natural gesture. Breastfeeding Your Child: Simply Magic!
I had the perfect conditions for breastfeeding: a suitable climate for wearing light clothes, places with little traffic.

When we decided to come and settle in France, in a cold region and a more restrictive environment, I started to think about my adaptation to breastfeed under new conditions. I thought, "If only I could make some simple openings with zips on all my favorite clothes."

 

So I asked myself the question: why keep these clothes just for breastfeeding? Why not wear them during pregnancy, while breastfeeding and afterwards?

eco-conception soutien-gorge allaitement
soutien-gorge allaitement bio

Why Kalo Collection?

The Kalo / Taro plant is known in Hawai'i not only for its culinary but also spiritual virtues.


In Hawaiian mythology, the dearest wish of Wākea (the heavenly father) and goddess Ho'ohōkūkalani (the star mother) was to become parents. Their first child was born but he was stillborn. The child's body was buried near their house where his mother came to collect, cry.

 

A plant grew there; nourished by the love and tears of a mother. This Kalo plant was named Hāloanakalaukapalili. The couple later gave birth to a healthy boy named Hāloa, in honor of his older brother, the kalo.

 

From Hāloa, the Hawaiian people were born. According to this legend the Hawaiians are linked to the Kalo; a connection to the past and their responsibility for the future as well as the importance of nature: source of life. One way of describing the link between Man and Nature and the link between the Past and the Future.

Kalo Collection

KALO COLLECTION has become obvious to me: to combine respect for nature and union with my family. A small contribution to respecting the environment for the next generations.


KALO COLLECTION is just like breastfeeding: natural, simple, original.


Natural for the materials (organic cotton and natural ink).


Simple for colors, patterns, cuts: a timeless collection.


Original for production in Portugal: my mother's country of birth.

Kalo_Collection_Emailed_.png

À propos de nous

Notre histoire

Il y a quelques années, j’ai décidé de retrouver ma sœur jumelle à Hawai'i, qui y séjournait pour apprendre l’anglais et le surf. Elle est retournée en France mais j’y suis restée : je suis tombée amoureuse de cette île, des vagues, et surtout de mon futur mari ! 


Plus tard, nous avons donné naissance à notre premier enfant. Pour moi, l’allaitement était une évidence, un geste parfaitement naturel. Nourrir son enfant au sein : tout simplement magique !
J’avais les conditions parfaites pour allaiter : un climat approprié pour porter des vêtements légers, des lieux peu fréquentés.

Quand nous avons décidé de venir nous installer en France, dans une région froide et un environnement plus contraignant, j’ai commencé à réfléchir à mon adaptation pour allaiter dans de nouvelles conditions. Je pensais "Si seulement je pouvais réaliser des simples ouvertures avec zips sur tous mes habits préférés" .

 

Aussi je me suis posé la question : pourquoi garder ces vêtements juste pour l’allaitement ? Pourquoi ne pas les porter pendant la grossesse, pendant l’allaitement et après ? 

eco-conception soutien-gorge allaitement
soutien-gorge allaitement bio

Pourquoi Kalo Collection ?

La plante Kalo/Taro est connue à Hawai'i non seulement pour ses vertus culinaires mais aussi spirituelles.


Dans la mythologie hawaïenne, le vœu le plus cher de Wākea (le père du ciel) et la déesse Ho’ohōkūkalani (la mère des étoiles) étaient de devenir parents. Leur premier enfant est né mais il est mort-né. Le corps de l’enfant a été enterré près de leur maison où sa mère venait s’y recueillir, pleurer.

 

Une plante a poussé à cet endroit ; nourri de l’amour et des larmes d’une maman. Cette plante de Kalo a été nommée Hāloanakalaukapalili. Le couple a plus tard donné naissance à un garçon en pleine santé : nommé Hāloa, en honneur de son grand frère, le kalo. 

 

De Hāloa, le peuple hawaïen est né. D’après cette légende les hawaïens sont liés au Kalo ; une connexion au passé et leur responsabilité pour le futur ainsi que l’importance de la nature : source de vie. Une façon de décrire le lien qui lie l’Homme à la Nature et le lien entre le Passé et le Futur. 
 

Kalo Collection, une évidence

KALO COLLECTION est devenue pour moi une évidence : allier le respect de la nature et l’union avec ma famille. Une petite contribution au respect de l’environnement pour les prochaines générations.


KALO COLLECTION est à l’image de l’allaitement : naturelle, simple, originelle.


Naturelle pour les matières (coton biologique et encre naturelle).


Simple pour les couleurs, motifs, coupes : une collection intemporelle.


Originelle pour la production au Portugal : pays d’origine de ma maman.

Kalo_Collection_Emailed_.png